He doesn’t have a clue.

I’m the type of person that when I tell a story, I like to tell the story in full, with little details including the look on their face and what they were wearing. I enjoy a full picture. When I ask about something, I expect the same in return. I find that in 90% of the time, most people don’t give very detailed answers.

I wonder why this is. Am I more detail oriented than most? A simple “Hi, how are you?” or “What have you been up to?” I expect a slight rundown of everything that’s happened, and most of the time I get “good” or “not much” as a reply. This is a typical me answer:

Well, today I was off work, so I spent the day at home. I baked a Cherry Cobbler and it didn’t come out very good, so I ended up eating vanilla ice cream with peanut butter in it. Have you ever had that? TRY IT! I cleaned some around the house, watched one of my favorite movies the Ugly Truth, and played some Wheel of Fortune on Wii.

I find that a typical answer from someone else would be: “Not much”

Am I too detailed? Should I shorten my answers? Do people not care?

-L

~ by thelissuh on February 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
