Red Velvet Cake Balls

I made Red Velvet Cake Balls this week, as seen on http://www.bakerella.com/red-velvet-cake-balls/

Click for the how-to!

Started with a slightly ugly Red Velvet Cake:

It was made from a Duncan Hines Red Velvet box cake mix. As per instructions on the box, I added eggs, water, and oil. Cooked it on 325 for around 32 minutes. I think it looks a bit like Mars, don’t you? 🙂 I am fairly sure I overbeat it.

I chose Betty Crocker icing because it is by far the creamiest, and my favorite. I feel like this canned icing has the best flavor. I added it to:

The cake, after breaking it apart and chopping it up in a bowl. Only about 3/4 of the can. I messed with it until I got a texture I liked. I imagine if you use a different cake mix, or one from scratch, it would be a different amount needed.

You definitely wanna lay a piece of wax paper on a cookie sheet at this point. It is alot easier to get the balls up off of wax paper than off of a plate or the pan.

Next, I rolled the cooked Red Velvet cake and icing mixture into balls. Laid them on the cookie sheet with wax paper. I varied the sizes a little but I found around the size of a quarter looked the nicest.

These are the finished balls. I think I ended up with around 64. I stuck them in the fridge thinking I would roll them the next day, but I had a migraine so waited until this morning.

This morning, I got up and pulled out my Wilton Candy Melts in Light Cocoa and White (Vanilla). You can find them here: Wilton.com Candy Melts and melted them according to the package. They are so simple to use and I think they taste just great!

All I did was melt about 1/4 of the package at a time I took the balls straight out of the fridge (they’re easier to work with this way, the warmer they got, the more the red flaked off) and dropped them in a bowl. Rolled them around a bit and used the spoon to put some of the melt on top of the balls, took them out and laid them on wax paper.

I started off laying them on a plate but found that it was very hard to pull them up once the candy melts hardened, so I moved to wax paper after ruining about 3. (For those of you keeping track, I’ve eaten one and ruined 3 so I’m at 60.) I found the white didn’t cover as well as the Light Cocoa, so I simply let them harden, then re-dipped.

Next I put some of the melted Light Cocoa in a Ziploc Bag, and snipped off one corner. This allowed me to drizzle the melt over the opposite color ball (white on chocolate, and chocolate on white) in a quick fashion.

Here they are in Chocolate! Don’t they look delicious?

I simply let them set on the counter and harden, then move them over to a plastic container with a lid. I took them to work today, gave some to friends, and to my Dad’s work. Everyone loved them! I do believe they’re a hit!

 

~ by thelissuh on March 16, 2011.

3 Responses to “Red Velvet Cake Balls”

  1. Cake Balls are the best!!! 😀 I love that you used RED VELVET Cake!! 😀 I’m planning on making some Red Velvet Cookies for an auction coming up. 😀

    xoxoxo
    Kathleen

    • I’m not even a big fan of Red Velvet cake, but I LOVE these! They have a wide appeal! I’ve never had a cake ball before, but I am so happy I made these. I am a huge fan! I’ll need to make them in different flavors now! Thank you for visiting! 🙂

  2. Love these!!! 🙂 Wish I had one right now!

Leave a Reply

 
