Funfetti & Chocolate PB Cake Balls!

My baking adventure this time was making Funfetti and Chocolate – Peanut Butter Cake Balls! These were in no way, shape, or form perfect, but a real experiment and I was very proud of myself.

I started with:

and

Also, I used a bag of Reese Cups Minis (those new ones that are unwrapped!) and Wilton Candy Melts:

How to make them:

I prepared the cake mixes according to the directions.

and cooked them as they called for. This time I only needed around 70 balls, so I baked the Funfetti in two round pans and the chocolate in a 13×9 pan, to save time.

Again, not the prettiest cake, but it doesn’t matter for this recipe! I found that I like baking these particular cakes best in a 13×9 because it cuts down on the hard edges that tend to form.

Next I chopped up the cake. I found that chopping up the Funfetti Cake ruins the pretty colors and sort of looks like a mess, so I won’t be using Funfetti mix again. I used a whole round cake and 1/4 of another round cake of Funfetti, and 1/2 of  the 13×9 chocolate.

All you do is break the cake up in a bowl and go at it with the spoon! (Hidden anger, anyone?) And add icing. I used Vanilla icing in the Funfetti cake and Milk Chocolate icing in the Chocolate cake. I also think buttercream would’ve worked fine in either.

Next, I rolled out my Funfetti balls. I didn’t do anything spectacular with these, just rolled them out. The chocolate balls, I formed around a Mini Reese Cup, then rolled them in my hands.

Then I stuck them in the fridge overnight.

The next day, I got the balls out to dip them.

I melted the Confetti Wilton Candy Melts in a bowl, in the microwave. We had our windows open yesterday and it was well into the 80s. I did not take into consideration they might not harden as well, so I had to be sure to get them into the fridge very quickly.

I just drop the ball in the bowl and spoon the melts over the ball. When I pull them out, I tap the spoon on the edge to remove excess. They were just a bit messy.

I did the same with the peanut butter Wilton Candy Melts. I was sure to spoon a little extra on the balls where they didn’t cover all the way.

Took them to work this morning for a meeting. They went over quite well! Everyone loved finding a surprise Reese Cup in the middle of the chocolate/peanut butter ones! I had only around half left. Warning though, these are VERY rich, and you can’t eat just one! 🙂 If you have any questions, please ask me!

-L

 

 

 

~ by thelissuh on April 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
